Celebrating excellence in water research

Page Menu  


The NWRI Clarke Prize would not be possible without the outstanding collaborative efforts of our staff, supporters, and planning team.

About NWRI

The National Water Research Institute (NWRI) is a science-oriented 501c3 nonprofit that has sponsored projects and programs since 1991 to improve water quality, protect public health and the environment, and create safe, new sources of water. We specialize in working with researchers across the country with the best available facilities, such as laboratories at universities and water agencies, and are guided by a Board of Directors made up of representatives of water and wastewater agencies in California.

NWRI has hosted the annual Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke Prize since 1994. It is one of only a dozen prizes that awards scholarly and practical achievements in water research, and is distinguished by the International Congress of Distinguished Awards as one of the most prestigious awards in the world.

About the Joan Irvine Smith and Athalie R. Clarke Foundation

The Clarke Prize would not be possible without the vision and support of the Joan Irvine Smith and Athalie R. Clarke Foundation.

The Clarke Prize was named after Mrs. Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke, a philanthropist from Orange County, California, who co-founded NWRI in 1991 along with her daughter, Mrs. Joan Irvine Smith. The Irvine Family has supported many organizations throughout Southern California, including the University of California Irvine, Irvine Museum, Crystal Cove Conservancy, and Mission San Juan Capistrano.

Thank you for all of your hard work and really catering to students! I felt very welcomed.” — Anonymous

As supporters of the Clarke Prize, the Foundation not only provides financial assistance for the award, but members of the Irvine Family are also actively involved with the Award Ceremony and Dinner. The family has attended every Clarke Prize since 1994, presenting each winner with the Clarke Medallion and $50,000 award.

We are grateful to the Joan Irvine Smith and Athalie R. Clarke Foundation for 20 years of dedicated support. Thank you for making the Clarke Prize one of the most esteemed water prizes in the world.



About the Clarke Prize Executive Committee

Special mention must be made of the Clarke Prize Executive Committee, whose members extensively review every nomination for the Clarke Prize and meet together to determine the winner. The committee is made up of previous Clarke Prize recipients and leaders in the water industry.

  • Chair: George Tchobanoglous, Ph.D., P.E., NAE, Professor Emeritus, University of California, Davis
  • Menachem Elimelech, Ph.D., Roberto C. Goizueta Professor of Chemical and Environmental Engineering, Yale University
  • Jeffrey Mosher, Chief Research and Strategic Planning Officer, Water Environment & Reuse Foundation
  • Joan B. Rose, Ph.D., Nowlin Endowed Chair for Water Research, Michigan State University
  • Jerald L. Schnoor, Ph.D., Allen S. Henry Chair in Engineering, The University of Iowa
  • Michael P. Wehner, Assistant General Manager, Orange County Water District

The 2018 Clarke Prize will be held at the Lyon Air Museum in Santa Ana, California.

back to top