Celebrating excellence in water research

Hosted by the National Water Research Institute

Page Menu  


We welcome you to attend the NWRI Clarke Prize Conference and Award Ceremony.

Honoring Excellence in Water Research

Consisting of a medallion and $50,000 check, the Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke Prize is one of only a dozen water prizes awarded worldwide. It has been distinguished by the International Congress of Distinguished Awards as one of the most prestigious awards in the world.

In 1994, our first Clarke Prize recipient, Dr. Bruce Rittmann, said, "Making water science meet water technology is the surest way for us to create innovative processes that are reliable, cost-effective, and quickly put into practice."

This was probably one of the best conferences I've ever been to. The venue was great, the presentations were broad and diverse, and the overall agenda was extremely professional.”

His point— real progress is made when those who identify scientific concepts to develop technological solutions work closely with those who apply technological solutions to solve real-world problems.

That is the same philosophy that inspired the establishment of our organization, the National Water Research Institute, and the same philosophy that makes the Clarke Prize Conference so unique, inspiring, and worthwhile to its attendees.

Its purpose is to bring together scientists and practitioners from all across the water community to discuss the most innovative research and technology developments happening today. The result is a broad mix of talks on theoretical concepts, fundamental research, practical application, useful experience, and real-world challenges and needs.

It was great hearing from many leading researchers speak about the most recent developments in their fields of study. Complementing their work with the case studies and problems facing the industry was a nice mix.”

The 2-day conference will feature presentations from past Clarke Prize Laureates, representatives from water and wastewater utilities, academics from leading-edge research universities in California, and other well-known professionals in the water industry.

After the last presentation of the day, we will invite our guests to join us at the Twenty-Second Annual Clarke Prize Award Ceremony and Lecture. The program will include a black-tie reception and dinner, anniversary celebration, and presentation of the 2015 Clarke Prize for excellence in water research.

We hope you plan to join us at the Clarke Prize Conference and Award Ceremony. We look forward to seeing you there!

Past Conferences

I'm looking forward to another Clarke Prize Conference!” — 2012 Conference Attendee Brad Coffey of the Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

The 2016 NWRI Clarke Prize Conference was held on November 4, 2016, in Newport Beach, California.

The highlight of the event was the Clarke Prize Award Ceremony and Lecture, where we honored Mark D. Sobsey, the Kenan Distinguished Professor of Environmental Sciences and Engineering at the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, as the twenty-third recipient of the NWRI Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke Prize for excellence in water research.

Over 120 people attended the conference, representing universities, consulting agencies, government agencies, manufacturing firms, water and wastewater utilities, universities, an many more.

Learn more about the 2016 NWRI Clarke Prize Conference.

Learn more about the 2015 NWRI Clarke Prize Conference.

Learn more about the 2014 NWRI Clarke Prize Conference.

Learn more about the 2013 NWRI Clarke Prize Conference.

Learn more about the 2012 NWRI Clarke Prize Conference.

back to top